We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Inner Ear Brigade

supported by
Sven B. Schreiber (sbs)
Sven B. Schreiber (sbs) thumbnail
Sven B. Schreiber (sbs) I started with "Dromology", which left me speechless. Although well prepared now for "Rainbro", knowing to expect something special and unusual, it's the same once again. So these are my first words after regaining speech: Umm, oh, well, this, er, this is, umm, fantastic! Fantastic, yeah! - Indeed, Bill Wolter knows how to write songs that surprise thoroughly. Soundalikes? Well, I tried to name some in my comment to "Dromology", and I won't do better this time... some Canterbury vibe, some RIO excellence and Zappa/Zeuhl madness... just to point you into some direction. But essentially, this is unique music. Favorite track: Dirty Spoons.
Eric Kearns
Eric Kearns thumbnail
Eric Kearns This is fantastic music that sneaks complexity and original sounds in your ears. You get a Stereolab vibe - then you get something totally rockin' - then something avant-garde. If you dig canterbury flavors with some sublime singing... this is for you. Fantastic music. Favorite track: Rainbro.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD


Knee 05:05
OomPah 05:09
Rainbro 05:02
Nut Job 03:12
Dirty Spoons 05:12


Rainbro, the first full-length release from San Francisco / Oakland band, Inner Ear Brigade creates sounds from the early interactions between rock and jazz mixing with a 70's progressive rock sensibility. On this album you will hear: quasi song form / thru composed rocking tunes, uncanny chord progressions, 3 part harmonizations of the vocals , vintage keys, with an electronic peppering of moog through a tape delay, dancing around the dense orchestrations of vibraphone, trumpet, sax, on top of a standard rhythm section, odd mixed meter at times, but not far from pop aesthetics. Recorded to Analog tape at Tiny Telephone Studios in San Francisco, and released on Italian record label, AltRock.


released December 28, 2011

Musicians on Tracks 1-9

Melody Ferris: Vocals
Ivor Holloway: Tenor and Alto Saxophone, Clarinet
Pat Moran: Electric Bass
Nick Peck - Hammond B-3 organ, Clavinet, Fender Rhodes Electric Piano, Minimoog Voyager, Mellotron, Piano, Arp Sring Ensemble, Wurlitzer 200A Electric Piano.
Doug Port: Drums
David Shaff : Trumpet
Ryder Shelly: Vibraphone
David Slusser : Slussomatic and Electronics
Andrew Vernon - Keyboards, Farfisa organ
Bill Wolter: Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Keyboards, Electronics, Compositions

Musicians on track 10(25 Miles To Freedom, musicians)

Shayna Dunkelman : vibes, crotales, Melody Ferris: Vocals, Jordan Glenn: Drums, Ivor Holloway: Tenor Saxophone, Curtis McKinney: Electric Bass, Charith Premawardhana : Viola, Max Stoffregen: Piano and synth, Bill Wolter: Guitar, Keyboards

All tracks recorded to Analog Tape by Jay Pellicci at Tiny Telephone studios, San Francisco, CA, Summer 2010. "25 Miles To Freedom" recorded by Ian Pellicci at Tiny Telephone 2009.

Mixed by Bill Wolter and Zach Lewinter.

All songs copyright 2011 by Bill Wolter

Mastered by John Greenham

Illustration by Jasper Thomas; Design & Photography: Dill Pixels;


all rights reserved



Inner Ear Brigade Oakland, California

Inner Ear Brigade (IEB) is an ensemble of musicians based in the San Francisco Bay Area who play a unique mix of progressive rock, jazz, and experimental pop, all delivered through their originally detailed compositions and arrangements. They recently released their 2nd full length album “Dromology”. ... more

contact / help

Contact Inner Ear Brigade

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Inner Ear Brigade, you may also like: